Cultural Triangle

The Cultural Triangle has brought Sri Lanka’s history alive in the most enthralling manner for millions of travellers. It covers the north central towns of Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya and Dambulla where extensive archeological ruins provide a glimpse into the island’s, dating back to the 4th century B.C. It is here that Sri Lanka’s kings developed remarkably advanced civilizations. The extensive archeological ruins of the Cultural Triangle are now protected by UNESCO as World Heritage sites. The central plains have low rainfall and several hotels are sumptuous enough to provide a holiday in their own right.

Image Gallery

Don't Miss

  • The extensive ruins of the former capitals, Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa
  • The climb up the giant rock fortress of Sigirya
  • Dambulla’s cave paintings and Buddha statues
  • Vesak in Mihintale
  • Elephants in Minneriya
  • The wooded walk through the ruins of Ritilgala
  • Cycling on peaceful minor roads by lakes and paddy fields

© ceylon discovery tours . 2022 All rights reserved​

× Live chat